J o u r n e y

Frequently Asked Questions



Soon after leaving Santana, Production Manager Herbie Herbert pulled together a group of local San Francisco musicians including Ross Valory (Fumious Bandersnatch), Prairie Prince (The Tubes), George Tickner (Fumious Bandersnatch), and ex-Santana guitar prodigy Neal Schon. Eventually he would convince ex-Santana keyboard/vocalist Gregg Rolie to join the rest of the band. Originally named "The Golden Gate Rhythm Section," a local radio station held a contest to rename the band, but the name Journey was suggested by an associate of Herbie. After playing several performances, Prairie Prince opted to return to The Tubes. Herbie found Aynsley Dunbar (Frank Zappa) to take his place.

Their self-titled album, Journey (1975), consisted mostly of instrumental music with sporadic vocals by Gregg Rolie. From the start they went on a grueling tour, trying to gain popularity by playing live performances. Before the release of their second album George Tickner opted to leave the band and was never replaced. With the release of Look Into The Future (1976) and Next (1977), the band altered their style by adding more vocal content. Each album would be more improved in sound than the predecessor, but they were still without a hit song or album.

Pressured into finding a lead singer, Journey would hire vocalist Robert Fleischman. Robert toured and recorded with the rest of the band, but was soon fired because of personal differences, plus the fact that manager Herbie Herbert listened to a demo tape of another vocalist, Steve Perry.

With Steve Perry on vocals, Journey's style would change again. Their fourth album, Infinity (1978), became their first successful album. Their endless promotional schedule would eventually pay off when the album generated three hit singles "Wheel In The Sky," "Anytime," and "Lights." They would finally evolve as headliners throughout most of their tour. By the end of the tour, the members developed problems with Aynsley Dunbar and he was eventually forced out of the band. His drum roadie, Steve Smith, who was playing with Ronnie Montose, Journey's opening act, would quickly replace him.

Their success continued with ensuing albums, Evolution (1979) and Departure (1980), then followed up with a double live album, Captured (1980). Gregg Rolie had enough of living the road and decided to leave the band. Before his departure, Gregg helped pick his replacement, Jonathan Cain (keyboards), who was currently opening shows for Journey with The Babys.

For their next album Jonathan Cain fit in perfectly, co-writing all songs, which again would change Journey's sound. From the start, Escape (1981) was a smash hit with the release of the ballad "Who's Cryin Now," followed by "Don't Stop Believin'," and their biggest hit single "Open Arms." The album reached #1 in its second month of release and eventually sold more than 9 million copies.

Their follow-up album, Frontiers (1983), was also very successful, going multi-platinum and producing two hit songs "Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)" and "Faithfully." At the end of the tour everyone took a short time off to work on solo projects. The most successful album was by Steve Perry who produced his own album Street Talk (1983). The album released several singles including "Oh, Sherrie," but he never promoted his album by going on tour.

Journey would return to the studio again, but developed major problems from the start. Conflicts arose when Steve Perry decided to produce the album and developed artistic differences between himself, Ross Valory, and Steve Smith, not to mention suffering through his own personal problems. Eventually, Ross and Steve Smith were ousted from the band. Journey would continue unhappily as a three man band. Two years later, Raised on Radio (1986) was finally released. The album was successful, although not as successful as their previous two albums. Tension continued during their promotional tour and after their last performance on February 1, 1987, they all went their separate ways.

In mid 1995, Neal Schon, Jonathan Cain, Ross Valory, Steve Smith, and Steve Perry reunited and started work on a new album. On October 22, 1996, Journey released their reunion album, Trial By Fire. The album was considered successful, especially considering it was their first album in ten years. Sadly, Steve Perry suffered an injury, which has kept the band from touring and promoting the album.

Eager to tour after eleven years and Steve still incapable of going on the road, Journey hires a new lead vocalist Steve Augeri (Tall Stories). With Perry's departure, Steve Smith opts to return to his jazz band, Vital Information, and is replaced by Bad English drummer Deen Castronovo.


Steve Augeri -- January 30, 1959 -- Brooklyn, NY
Jonathan Cain -- February 26, 1950 -- Chicago, IL
Deen Castronovo -- August 17, 1965 -- Portland, OR
Neal Schon -- February 27, 1954 -- Midwest City, OK
Ross Valory -- February 2, 1949 -- San Francisco, CA


Irving Azoff (manager)
Mike Baird
Aynsley Dunbar -- January 10, 1946 -- Liverpool, England
Robert Fleischman
Herbie Herbert -- February 5, 1950?
Randy Jackson -- October 29, 1961 -- Gary, IN
Larrie Londin -- October 15, 1943 -- Norfolk, VA -- Died August 24, 1992 (heart attack)
Steve Perry -- January 22, 1949 (see section 3.3) -- Hanford, CA
Prairie Prince -- May 7, 1950 -- Charlotte, NC
Gregg Rolie -- June 17, 1947 -- Seattle, WA
Steve Smith -- August 21, 1954 -- Boston, MA
George Tickner



Abraxas Pool features members of Santana including keyboard-vocalist Gregg Rolie, guitarist Neal Schon, bassist Alphonso Johnson and drummers Michael Shrieve, Jose Chepito Areas, and Michael Carabello.

  • Abraxas Pool (1997)


Bad English features vocalist John Waite (Babys), keyboardist Jonathan Cain, guitarist Neal Schon, bassist Ricky Phillips (Frederiksen/Phillips), and drummer Deen Castronovo (Hardline).

  • Backlash (1991)
  • Bad English (1989)


Hardline features guitarist Neal Schon, vocalist Johnny Gioeli, guitarist Joey Gioeli, drummer Deen Castronovo (Bad English), and bassist Todd Jensen (David Lee Roth).

  • Double Eclipse (1992)


The Storm features lead singer Kevin Chalfont (707), keyboardist/vocalist Gregg Rolie, drummer Steve Smith (first album only), bassist Ross Valory, guitarist Josh Ramos (Velocity), and drummer Ron Wikso (Foreigner, David Lee Roth).

  • Eye Of The Storm (1996)
  • The Storm (1991)


There are several well known Journey tribute bands, all with appropriate names: Escape, Captured, two bands named Infinity, Frontiers, Wheel In The Sky, Separate Ways, and Line Of Fire. For more information on the tribute bands, including future performance dates, visit the Journey Tribute Page.

Last updated: July 1, 1998
FAQ Maintainer: Steven Lake
Journey Tribute Page